Crockpot Turkey Meatballs


Happy Monday!

I wanted to share a recipe I made a couple of weeks ago. We were hosting a surprise 21st birthday party for my daughter’s boyfriend. I needed to make something I could put in the crockpot BUT it also needed to be gluten-free. I saw this recipe on Sallysbakingaddiction.com and knew I could sub out the 2/3 cup panko and it would be perfect! I needed to find something that was gluten-free but that wasn’t heavy or would take away from the taste and texture of the original recipe. I decided on Food Should Taste Good’s All Natural Multigrain Tortilla Chips. I pulsed them in the food processor until I had the same texture as panko. They worked perfectly! THe dish was  a big hit, everyone loved them!

This would be a great meal on those nights that can get overloaded during the busy school year. I made it for dinner for my family last week (and I chose to do the gluten-free version.) I served Seeds of Change’s Certified Organic Quinoa and Brown Rice with garlic, and a simple salad with fresh veggies out of my garden.

Below is the original posting on http://www.sallysbakingaddition.com.

Enjoy and Happy Cooking,

Vonnie

This is my favorite recipe for classic crockpot turkey meatballs. They’re spiced just right, incredibly tender, filled with tons of flavor, and there’s hardly any work involved.

Yield: about 25 medium-size meatballs

prep time: 35 MINUTES

total time: 6 HOURS 35 MINUTES

This is my favorite recipe for classic crockpot turkey meatballs. They're spiced just right, incredibly tender, filled with tons of flavor, and there's hardly any work involved.

Ingredients:

  • 1 large egg
  • 1 pound 97-98% lean ground turkey*
  • 1 pound 92-93% lean ground turkey*
  • 2/3 cup (40g) Panko*
  • 3 Tablespoons (45ml) olive oil
  • 1/4 cup (22g) grated parmesan cheese
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 teaspoons dried oregano
  • 2 teaspoons dried basil
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 large onion sweet onion, sliced
  • two 28-ounce cans crushed tomatoes
  • chopped fresh basil for serving, optional

Directions:

1) Beat the egg in a large mixing bowl. Add the ground turkey, Panko, 2 Tablespoons olive oil, parmesan, garlic, oregano, basil, salt, and pepper in a large bowl. Mix everything up just so the ingredients are combined – avoid overmixing. Roll into desired size balls – mine were slightly larger than a golf ball. Some people prefer them larger, some prefer them smaller. Place all rolled meatballs on a large baking sheet.

2) Place onion slices in the bottom of the crockpot, topped with 1 can of crushed tomatoes.

3) Coat a large skillet with remaining Tablespoon of olive oil and bring to medium-high heat. Lightly brown the meatballs (only 6-8 meatballs at a time) for about 1 minute on each side. Do not skip this step – read above for why. Layer the meatballs into the crockpot as you’re browning each batch. Once all browned meatballs have been added to the crockpot, pour remaining can of tomatoes on top.

4) Cover and cook on low for 6-6.5 hours. Serve with pasta, as meatball subs, plain, etc. No matter how I serve them, I always top with a little chopped fresh basil. Store leftovers covered tightly in the refrigerator for up to 1 week.

Leave a Reply

