The Perfect Iced Coffee (Ree Drummond’s Recipe)


Let me start off by saying, Oh My Goodness  I am in coffee heaven!   I love this method.  It did result in a smoother, richer, more delicious concentrate than simply brewing strong coffee and refrigerating it.  Just as Ree said it would.  I have been the type of coffee drinker that when I wanted an iced coffee, I would brew a cup and then pour over a large glass of ice. I was always disappointed because all I got was diluted coffee water. Not anymore!  This was so easy to make. I strained my coffee through a double layer of paper towels since I didn’t have any cheesecloth on hand.  I pack my glass full of ice and poured the coffee concentrate about 2/3 of the way up. I added 1 TBSP. of Hazelnut Syrup, 1 TBSP. sweetened condensed milk, and topped it all off with some iced cold milk and gave it a nice stir. ” Heaven… I’m in heaven, And my heart beats so that I can hardly speak. And I seem to find the happiness I seek”….ok well, maybe that’s a little over kill, but it really is the Perfect Iced Coffee. Thanks Ree for sharing. Go to www.pioneerwomancooks.com and read the whole article.

Enjoy and Happy Cooking,                                                                      

Vonnie

Ingredients                                                                                                                                           The Pecfect Iced Coffee
■1 pound Ground Coffee (good, Rich Roast)
■8 quarts Cold Water
■Half-and-half (healthy Splash Per Serving)
■Sweetened Condensed Milk (2-3 Tablespoons Per Serving)
■Note: Can Use Skim Milk, 2% Milk, Whole Milk, Sugar, Artificial Sweeteners, Syrups…adapt To Your Liking!
Preparation Instructions
(Adapted from Imbibe Magazine)

In a large container, mix ground coffee with water. Cover and allow to sit at room temperature eight hours or overnight.

Line a fine mesh strainer with cheesecloth and set over a pitcher or other container. Pour coffee/water mixture through the strainer, allowing all liquid to run through. Discard grounds.

Place coffee liquid in the fridge and allow to cool. Use as needed.

To make iced coffee, pack a glass full of ice cubes. Fill glass 2/3 full with coffee liquid. Add healthy splash of half-and-half. Add 2-3 tablespoons sweetened condensed milk (can use plain sugar instead) and stir to combine. Taste and adjust half-and-half and/or sweetened condensed milk as needed.

Posted by Ree on June 12 2011

5 thoughts on “The Perfect Iced Coffee (Ree Drummond’s Recipe)

  1. The minute I saw this posted on Ree’s site I knew I wanted to make it, but haven’t got around to it yet – thanks for the reminder! Did you make the whole amount with the pound of coffee? That’s the only thing really holding me back, because I know we’ll never drink it all. But anyway, yum! Your hazelnut/condensed milk combo sounds DELISH!

    PS. Love the Ricky Ricardo song you included 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

