Pork Chops with a Apple-Jack Cream Sauce


   This meal came to mind when a fellow blogger asked for me to share a recipe or tips on meal planning for her Link up on www.hinessightblog.com   When my children were little I was fortunate to stay at home with them I left my job and never looked back.  I had 3 babies (Christopher, Taylor, and Madeline) in 4 years!  I remember my days being crazy! They always started very early and by the time dinner rolled around I need a meal that came together quickly and  tasted good.  I never served fast food or take-out, we occasionally had pizza for the local pizzeria and even more rare we ate out at a restaurant.  Not because I was a food snob, but because with 3 small children and a limited amount of money coming in, it was just not an option.  I guess this is when I really began my love affair with cooking and creating good dinners  that didn’t take up a lot of time or money.  My children are now 21, 19, and 17 and when their busy lives allow them to be home for dinner I like to make this meal. It comes together so nicely.  Your  family or guests will think you spent hours preparing, but don’t tell them it only took you 20 minutes!

I used butterflied pork chops and cut them into 2 chops. You can use any cut of pork or even boneless chicken breasts.

Enjoy and Happy cooking,                                                                                         

1/3 cup flour

2 tsp. chicken seasoning,  I used Montreal from McCormicks

1 tsp. poultry seasoning

1 1/2 pound butterflied pork chops, cut

2 TBSP. olive oil

1/2 cup whiskey,  I used Jack Daniels

1/2 cup apple juice

1/2 cup half and half

2 tsp. Jamaican Jerk seasoning,  I used Pampered Chef

In a bowl, combine flour, chicken seasoning, and poultry seasoning. Take out 1 TBSP. and reserve.

Dredge pork and shake out extra flour mixture.

In a large skillet, heat oil over medium high heat. Saute pork for 3 minutes per side or until golden. Remove pork and set aside. Remove pan from heat and carefully add whiskey. Return to heat and scrape up brown bits from bottom of pan. Add juice and jerk seasoning. Bring to a boil. Add cream. Mix 1 TBSP. of reserved flour mixture with a little water or cream and make a thin paste. Add to pan and stir until thickened. Add pork  and cover both sides with sauce. Reduce heat to a simmer and cover pan. Continue cooking for 5 minutes. To serve place pork chop on a plate and pour sauce over.

Serve with stuffing or mashed sweet potatoes, and steamed broccoli.

5 thoughts on “Pork Chops with a Apple-Jack Cream Sauce

  1. Thank you so much for linking up. This looks delicious. I’m always looking for new ways to cook pork chops, too.

    You are a great cook! I’ve tried several, and look forward to trying this, too.

    Like

  2. This sounds amazing. I think I have just about everything to make it, too. The name Apple Jack reminds me of autumn. I could use some autumn in my life right now. I will be giving these a go REAL soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

