Strawberry Blossoms


There is nothing I love more than when June rolls around and the local strawberries become available.  All the expert farmers here in Michigan are saying our strawberry season will be short, but maybe some of the very best berries in years.  That said, I thought I better get moving on my recipes and cooking!  Last night my son and his girlfriend make the most beautiful chocolate covered strawberries. All Taylor and Courtney did was melt some good milk chocolate and dipped!  It was fun watching them “cook”.  We talked, we laughed, and we certainly enjoyed a great dessert.

 

Today, I thought for my strawberry dessert I would make Strawberry Blossoms. This is a very simple recipe that was given to me by a dear friend and co-worker.  Sally is the Librarian I work for during the school year.  She is always encouraging my cooking and giving me ideas and recipes.  Her mother and I shared the same birthday and a passion for cooking.  Since Jackie’s passing,  Sally has been so generous with recipe and cookbooks that were Jackie’s favorite. I have loved reading  all them and her notes. She was an amazing woman.

So this one is for you Sally.  In honor of your mother. Love you both.     

Enjoy and Happy Cooking,

ingredients:

8-12 large strawberries washed and dried

3 ounces cream cheese, softened

2 Tablespoons powdered sugar

1 Tablespoon sour cream

chopped chocolate (optional)

chopped mint leaves (optional)

Directions:

Remove the stems from the berries forming a flat base.  Place berries pointed end up.  With a sharp knife, carefully slice strawberry  in half vertically through the center to within 1/4 inch of the base.  Cut each half into 3 wedges forming 6 petals. do not cut though base.  Pull petals apart slightly. In a small bowl, beat cream cheese, sugar and sour cream until light and fluffy.  Fill berries with mixture.  If desired, top with some chopped chocolate or mint leaves.

4 thoughts on “Strawberry Blossoms

  1. My Madison is really starting to get into cooking. She was upset with her LME class at school. Learning things like making brownies from a box is not really cooking! Says Madison! She would love to try these! I will pass this on to her!

    Like

Leave a Reply

