Grilled Ham and Pineapple Sandwiches


So I was faced with real dilemma today.  Usually, I post “Happy Meatless Monday” and Challenge everyone to a meat free dinner.   But, today as I was thinking about which recipe would be perfect, my mind wouldn’t let go of an image of wonderfully grilled sourdough bread that had  graced my dinner table yesterday. It was filled with savory Easter ham that had been marinated in dark ale and glazed with the goodness of apple butter and grainy mustard and topped  with the combination of  sweet cream cheese and pineapple.  When I tell you I tried hard to sift through my many recipes and creations for meatless menus, I did with all my might.  BUT… like a bad habit this sandwich stuck with me.  Once you create this divine concoction it will forever be imbedded in your mind as well!    So forgive me Meat Freers…I promise a Meatless Friday this week.

FYI…..”Challenge” your imagination.  This recipe is only a stepping stone. Take the basics and run with it.  For instance, This is wonderful made as a Panini.

Enjoy and Happy cooking,

                                                                                

 

 

Ingredients:

8 or more slices cooked ham

8 slices sourdough bread

 1  8oz. block cream cheese, softened

1 can crushed pineapple, drained

4 Tbsp. butter *

 

Directions:

In a bowl combine cream cheese and pineapple.  Spread on 4 slices of bread.  Layer  slices of ham on top of cheese mixture and top with remaining slices of bread.

Heat butter in a large skillet over medium heat. Place sandwiches in skillet, and fry on each side until golden brown and cheese is melted, about 2-3 minutes per side.   *You may need more butter to fry sandwiches.

Leave a Reply

